12 Senior News Editors and Producers Selected for IRP’s Gatekeeper Trip to Kenya

The International Reporting Project (IRP) has chosen 12 senior editors and producers from across the United States to participate in a 12-day trip to Kenya as part of the IRP’s annual “Gatekeeper Editors” fellowships.

Each year the IRP selects two groups of “Gatekeeper Editors” to travel to an important country to learn more about critical global issues to help them improve their news organizations’ international coverage.

“Kenya is an important country that faces critical challenges in health issues, economic development, land and environmental issues as well as national and regional stability,” said John Schidlovsky, director of the IRP, which is based in Washington at The Johns Hopkins University’s Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS).

Editors selected for the Kenya trip, scheduled for May 31- June 12, 2009, are:

Andrea Lynn Crossan, News Producer, “The World,” BBC/PRI

Kitty Eisele, Supervisory Senior Editor, “Morning Edition,” NPR

Stephanie Hanson, News editor, CFR.org, Council on Foreign Relations

Richard Just, Managing editor,

The New Republic

Margaret McElligott, Senior producer, Washingtonpost.com

Miriam Pepper, Vice president, editorial page,

Kansas City Star

Dante Ramos, Deputy editorial page editor,

Boston Globe
Monica Richardson, Beat department leader,

Atlanta Journal-Constitution

Linda Roth, Executive Producer, CNN Washington

Debra Adams Simmons, Managing Editor,

The Plain Dealer

Jim Simon, Assistant Managing Editor,

Seattle Times

Greg Winter, Assistant Foreign Editor,

The New York Times

The Gatekeepers will meet with a wide range of Kenyan leaders in fields such as politics, business, media, medicine and health, education, environment, agriculture, arts and culture and other areas. The Kenya trip is the 11th Gatekeepers trip since the program began in 2000. Previous IRP Gatekeeper editors have traveled to Indonesia, Brazil, South Africa, Lebanon/Syria, India, Egypt, Nigeria, Korea, Uganda and Turkey.